Book Review of WHAT HAVE I DONE by Amanda Prowse

what have i doneKathryn Brooker is the headmaster’s wife. While her husband spends his days disciplining unruly teenagers in the grand halls of Mountbriers Academy, Kathryn spends hers baking scones for her son’s cricket match in a beautiful cottage in the manicured school grounds.

In the evenings, when her husband strides home to compliment her cooking and kiss her hello – ignoring jokes from their children about grown-up lovebirds – Kathryn Brooker is the very picture of a fulfilled wife and mother. Anyone who peered through the downstairs sash window at the four figures sat easily around their scrubbed-pine kitchen table would see a happy family without a care in the world. They would envy Kathryn her perfect life.

But they would be wrong. Kathryn is trapped in a nightmare. And she is about to do something to change it. Something only a truly desperate woman would do…

My Review

Amanda Prowse was brought to my attention my Jera’s Jamboree book review site (see here for interview) and I was immediately intrigued by the sound of this book. I purchased it in digital format and was grabbed by the first page. I really wanted to find out what events had brought Kathryn Brooker to a police cell accused of murdering her husband.

What Have I Done really gets into the psyche of the characters and I couldn’t help but feel compassion for this woman who had suffered mental and physical abuse at the hands of her husband for many years. I found the book very moving and the writing full of emotion.

As Kathryn, I felt a tremendous amount of sorrow for her but as Kate I became almost like a proud parent, urging her on to better and better things.

A thought provoking, at times sad, read but one that is well worth it.

To find out more about Amanda Prowse, visit her website at www.amandaprowse.co.uk

Facebook www.facebook.com/AmandaProwseAuthor

Twitter : @MrsAmandaProwse

amanda prowse

5 thoughts on “Book Review of WHAT HAVE I DONE by Amanda Prowse

Leave a Reply

