The Next Big Thing

I have been tagged in The Next Big Thing a few times now, but a plea from the lovely Sarah Tranter for someone to pass the baton on to, well, I’m not very good at saying no, so here goes…

What is the title of your book?

Once Upon A … Secret

I’m hoping to write a ‘Once Upon A …’ trilogy based on the same character, spanning three decades.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

A variety of places really – reading different genres such as romance and thrillers, from films, television, the news  – all these things have probably influenced my ideas to lesser or greater degrees.  I suppose the nugget that started it all off, the theme if you like, was whether it is possible to love two people at the same time which then posed the question of whether you ever really know someone.

What genre does your book fall under?

Romantic suspense – I like to think of it as a bit of a thriller but in a girly way.

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a film version?

That’s a really hard question, one which I keep coming back to but haven’t come up with a definitive answer.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Having work shopped this recently with Julie Cohen, I would say …

Once Upon A … Secret is a romantic suspense novel about a woman who has to choose between the husband she thought was dead and the officer investigating his past criminal activities.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Undecided at this point, assuming I was lucky enough to be offered representation by an agency. There are, of course, advantages and disadvantages to both.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Erm … still writing.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I really couldn’t say – different people see different things in books.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I decided I would write what I enjoy reading.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

The first book is set in the 1990’s so there might be a bit of nostalgia there for some readers.  I’ve had great fun looking up all the social references, news, songs, films and fashion for the 1990’s although have to admit, the 80’s are a really tempting starting place – I could yet change my mind!
21 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. Congratulations on the nomination, Sue. Love the idea of a trilogy – I really like ‘follow-up’ books because you get so attached to characters, it can be very hard to say goodbye.

  2. Interesting that you have mixed feelings about the pros and cons of going with a traditional publisher. There was a time authors would have jumped at the chance to be accepted by a publisher. Now, I’m not sure what I’d do either, but I know I like the ownership I feel with my self-published novels.

    • Thanks Laura, I expect I will be bending everyone’s ears about it, yours included, and you’ll be fed up with it by the time I’ve finished!
      x

  3. Me again, making another post to see if I can get the subscription activation to work this time. Just play amongst yourselves….

  4. Oh, I’m definitely hooked on the synopsis of this, Sue! Great concept – all the lovely nostalgia. It sounds like a novel I’ll be champing at the bit to read 🙂 I thoroughly enjoyed United State of Love too xx

  5. Huge congratulations again, both on The Nomination and the Next Big Thing! I love the whole idea of Once Upon a…. and can’t wait to get reading more. Keep writing, write fast (no pressure!). Rock on, Sue, this is a great moment for you. XXXX

Leave a Reply

