The Wind Weeps – Anneli Purchase

Description

Andrea leaves big-city boredom in Ontario to search for love and adventure on B.C.’s rugged coast. The love of two men and a woman leads her into the world of commercial fishing. She is drawn into a rough life alternating between savage beauty and serenity.

But when adventure turns to terror, and Andrea’s survival is threatened, will her newly acquired wilderness skills be enough to save her life?

The Wind Weeps is a pure Canadian tale of love, betrayal, and triumph, told with gusto, humour, and bold insight.

My Thoughts

An enjoyable and gripping read which gives a fascinating insight into something I knew nothing about before – fishing off the coast of British Columbia.

The author has an impressive knowledge of the fishing scene and the workings of a boat which is clearly revealed throughout the novel. However,  this knowledge is slipped easily into the writing and blends in effortlessly with the plot.

Initially, I was a bit irritated with the heroine for rushing into a life changing decision, but I forgave her for that and, for a time, I even wondered whether she had made the right choice.  However, the more I read, the more I began to worry for her.

The tension built up slowly, bit by bit, and almost crept up on you, kind of like the danger that crept up on Andrea.  At times I was on the edge of my seat, almost willing things to happen, or not.  I found myself sympathising with all four main characters for various reasons and, surprisingly, even the real villain at times who clearly had psychological problems.

I found the style of writing easy to read and quickly became engrossed in the story line.

As I said before, an enjoyable and gripping read.

Links for Anneli

Blog – http://wordsfromanneli.wordpress.com/

Website – http://www.anneli-purchase.com/

Twitter – @anneli33

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000521578640#!/profile.php?id=100002204857671

13 thoughts on “The Wind Weeps – Anneli Purchase

Leave a Reply

