Run Rabbit Run – Kate Johnson

Description

Sophie’s in trouble. Must be Tuesday. Sophie Green’s an ex-spy, or trying to be. You wouldn’t believe the trouble she’s in. An MI5 officer has been shot with her gun, her fingerprints all over his office. And no, she didn’t kill him. But she has gone on the run.

Now Sophie’s desperately seeking whoever’s trying to frame and kill her. She’s being forced to work with the least trustworthy man in Europe, MI5 is following her every move, and she’s had to leave the tall, blond, god of a man she loves behind.

Luke Sharpe works for MI6. Or did, until his girlfriend became a murder suspect. Doing nothing wasn’t an option, so he started investigating. Who cares if it means jeopardising his career? Sophie’s everything he used to say he never wanted. Young, irresponsible, bright and mad. Now she’s just everything – and she has to live. She will live, won’t she?

My Thoughts

I have always been a big fan of the TV series ‘Spooks’, always enjoyed a thriller and a mystery storyline so when ChocLit asked if I would be interested in reviewing Run Rabbit Run, I jumped at the chance.  I hadn’t read any of the previous Sophie Green mysteries but that wasn’t a problem as this book can be read as a stand alone.

If I’m totally honest, much as I wanted to like Sophie, initially I found her incredibly frustrating. She wasn’t the sophisticated, smooth and competent agent I was expecting. However, I did warm to her as the story progressed and was able to get to know her better.  I felt by the end of the novel, I had a much better understanding of her and I liked her a whole lot more than in the beginning. She had a great deal more compassion, understanding and feelings than I gave her credit for. She was a fighter, that was for sure.

Her MI6 agent boyfriend, Luke Sharpe, was lovely and madly in love with Sophie, even if he never planned to be.  He was cool but hot, calm but firey, tough but loving – what more could a girl ask for?

Sophie’s accomplice, the gorgeous Jack, was a bit of a mystery, I was never quite sure if he could be trusted either in the field or playing it.

The plot kept me guessing all the way through and sometimes knowing what Luke knew but aware that Sophie didn’t, made me quite fearful for her safety.

I enjoyed reading Run Rabbit Run – the build up and climax of the plot kept me on my toes all the way through, as did the ultimate outcome of Sophie and Luke’s relationship.

Thank you ChocLit for sending me a review copy.

Twitter https://twitter.com/#!/k8johnsonauthor

Website http://www.katejohnson.co.uk/

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/catmarsters?ref=mf&sk=wall

4 thoughts on “Run Rabbit Run – Kate Johnson

Leave a Reply

