Author Stephanie Keyes and her Real-Life Valentine

Hello everyone and Happy Valentine’s Day to all of you! A special “thank you” to the lovely Sue Fortin, whose book French Kissing in the UK is due out this spring, for having me as a guest today.

When I think about Valentine’s Day, I can’t help but remember how I met my real-life valentine, the enigmatic Mr. Keyes. When our paths first crossed, I didn’t think very kindly of him. Okay, that’s being kind; I thought he was a total jerk.

When we first met, we were both music majors. I was studying clarinet and he trumpet performance. I was in a practice room at the local community college working out a piece, when he walked in. Needless to say, in those days I had to be taken down a couple of notches. I was a little too full of myself, too much of a diva. Though don’t get me wrong, I firmly believe that everyone should have a little inner diva, even the men. Okay, moving on.

So I said, in the geeky, stilted speaking voice that I had then: “So what did you think of that?”

His response: “It was pretty good, but you didn’t articulate properly on measure twenty four…”

Well naturally, I immediately thought, “What a jerk! Who does he think he is, criticizing me?”

His behavior that day definitely encouraged me to avoid him. However, I realized quickly that first impressions aren’t always accurate. The man that I thought of as obnoxious at first pass, turned out to be one of the nicest people I’d ever met.

When we finally connected romantically, it was easy. We were already best friends.

Seventeen years and two kids later, Mr. Keyes is still my best friend. It’s not the same relationship as it was when we first met. I think you have to be committed to working it out.

So we both try every day to “keep the magic alive” so to speak. Whether that’s leaving one another little love notes, surprising the other with a special dinner, or just saying “I love you” each day, we both work on it all the time.

In many ways I see Mr. Keyes as my miracle, my angel. Generally, I’m a skeptic about most things, but underneath it all, I’m still a hopeless romantic underneath it all. Mr. Keyes just looks beneath the surface to find out what I need and he’s always there for me.

So to all you who have a Mr. or Mrs. Keyes in your life, reach out them and tell them this Valentine’s Day how much they mean to you. If you don’t have a special someone, don’t look for him or her, because they always seem to come along when you least expect them and you aren’t looking.

Have a wonderful day everyone!

 The Star Child is available on Amazon

US http://amzn.to/wDfUAd

UK http://amzn.to/w70i8A

About the author:

Find out more about Stephanie at http://www.stephaniekeyes.com.

Friend her on Facebook: http://on.fb.me/yGlaux

Follow Her On Twitter: http://bit.ly/jjneXg

Watch the Book Trailer

(Designed by Avalon Graphics and Bronwen Harrison)

http://bit.ly/ArylBq

18 thoughts on “Author Stephanie Keyes and her Real-Life Valentine

  1. From total jerk to perfect Mr! And keeping the love alive – well, that’s what it’s all about. We all LOVE those happy endings – great post Sue!

  2. Made me smile. I must admit after over 40 years of marriage we have agreed not to send each other flowers today. Seems fair!! Look forward to meeting you in June.

    • I think so too! Yes, I can’t wait! It’s going to be great getting back to the UK again.

  3. Love it. With mine, it was love at first sight and after 30 odd years we still love each other. Odd, being the operative word here. But it’s lovely to read a great story like yours, Steph. Thank you for sharing and bringing a smile to my face.

    • Kit,
      I’m glad you enjoyed. Thank you for bringing a smile to my face. It’s nice to know that the romance can still survive. I’ve always looked at it that way, but you two are a shining example.

  4. Aw, bless. She didn’t moan about him once! Not even a teeny moan. He gets my vote! 🙂 x

    • Besides the fact that the return policy is now void, he’s a pretty nice guy. I think I’ll keep him!

  5. What a lovely post–true romance, I’m all overcome! Thanks for sharing, this is so cute! Can’t wait to meet you both, that’s fab news, too! yay! Thanks, Sue, for hosting this timely feature. XX

Leave a Reply

