Three Days to Die – John Avery

Having read and reviewed mostly romance novels  here, I thought it was about time I had a look at something different.  I do usually like a good thriller/action book so I was looking forward to getting my teeth into Three Days to Die by John Avery, part of the Aaron Quinn thriller series.

The plot surrounds a 13 year old boy Aaron who after witnessing a murder is captured and held hostage by the criminal gang.  He spends the next three days being dragged further and further into their world of criminal activities.  At some point during his capture he almost becomes a validated member of the gang, shades of Stockholm syndrome come through and up to a point, the reader experiences this too. As the story unfolds, you gradually learn more about the gang and how they came to be part of it.  By the end I found  myself empathising with them to a point.  However, this is not the crux of the story, just an aside.

I found the book to be fast paced with lots of action and a plausible plot.   At several points I really had no idea what was going to happen next and I found myself feeling anxious for the characters, especially Aaron and his mother.  Without giving the ending away, I found it finished the novel off nicely with no loose ends.

I like the style the book was written in but it took me a couple of chapters to get used to the narrative switching viewpoints within the same scene.  However, once I was aware of this after a while it wasn’t a problem and didn’t distract me from the story line at all.  The chapters are short and pacy which encourages you to read on and there is plenty of tension throughout.

An enjoyable read which had several lines that made me laugh out loud, my favourite being Aaron speaking to his friend Willy about having to use guns … “We’re not in Kansas anymore, Toto.”

http://johnaverybooks.com/http:/johnaverybooks/author/johna174/

John is also on Twitter and Facebook

Leave a Reply

